What Do I Want?

A constant question in my mind since the recent forever.

Happiness was the answer for a long time. Which really just leads back to the original question.

But now I have a hypothesis. At least the general outline.

And I need to note that anything I write comes from tremendous privilege.

Thanks to my former marketing life at General Mills, I’ve been careful to outline my personal brand’s Pursuits and Objectives with strong action verbs and directive phrasing that still leaves space for interpretation and agility for future growth. And now it’s my phone background…until I go home and get some new pics of my wiener dog Maurice.

  1. Live in health, safety, and comfort.

First and foremost, I need to look out for number 1. This is simple Maslow’s Hierarchy stuff. Health and safety first before I can even think to achieve the rest. Healthy living is a struggle for me, but last night I made myself a healthy eggplant parmesan, so like, I’m on my way.

Comfort was a carefully chosen word. When it comes to my financial goals, I have done a lot of serious thinking. I was beyond fortunate to be born into a well-off family. My parents worked incredibly hard to have the financial success they have achieved.

But is wealth my ultimate goal? As a woman motivated by her competitive spirit, I want to be sure I live and work toward a pure goal, one that I design from a rational brain, not a competitive one. Financially, what do I really want to be working toward one day? Comfort.

A comfortable lifestyle allows you peace of mind. I hope to never be worried about money, and at the same time I hope to never be living just to make more.

2. Fill life with love and family.

There is nothing special about this one. What is happy without your favorite people around you?

Only note I want to make is “fill.” This is active. It requires me to take action. This is something I often forget. I have to make the choice to fill my life with meaning instead of hoping opportunity will come knocking.

Of course, this presents some poignant personal questioning for me now, all leading back to this question: where will I choose to live one day? But no need to answer that just yet.

Love and family. If you’re lucky those are in the same place. If not, that’s when the active fill becomes even more necessary. You can budget for travel. Or ration vacation days to visit international in-laws. Oy.

3. Devote career to positive change.

And this is the biggy.

Often, when I express a desire to want this, advice is to just volunteer on weekends. Well, that’s if I am actually offered advice. Mostly, I feel disregarded as your typical millennial who will realize it’s not a realistic dream.

I’ve rejected that notion.

I say “devote” because it feels like a contribution I can make, a donation I can afford at this stage of my life.

I can devote myself, my skills, experiences, and whatever potential I hope that I have and contribute them to the greater good. True good. Not the more-products-sold-means-more-jobs-and the more means my co will donate to a cause. Which I absolutely respect, though is not in line with my personal goals. For me, Good. As in, everything this organization does is to directly make life/environment/society, etc. better.

I’m talking B-Corp, Social Enterprise, NGO, let’s re-think the entire system and re-engineer it for the benefit of everyone (including animals, encompassing the environment). I believe in the Public sector, and I also believe in the Private.

Even for good, for profit: a system that grows positivity and progress while it grows profit.

And in total honesty I admit that this isn’t just for the sake of doing good. This is also very much selfish. To feel fulfilled, I need to commit myself to a cause I believe in. To feel like I matter, I need to commit my passion to progress. To enjoy my life, I need to contribute positively to others’.  This is an objective for my life.

4. Lead

Simple and to the point. Being a decision maker can be a tremendous responsibility. Sometimes I wish that I didn’t, but I always envision myself at the top. Influencing and guiding others, making decisions, and directing an organization toward its objectives and purpose.

As for now, this gives my type-a brain structure and clarity for what to work toward in my life. In priority order. Work in progress. Feel free to tease me.